Armed Forces - a6a2 - Regular Artillery Regiments - TA Artillery Regiments



In mid 2011 the Regular Regiments of the Royal Artillery were as follows:
1 Regiment RHA 1 RHA  (Field) 155mm AS 90
3 Regiment RHA 3 RHA (Field) 155mm AS 90
4 Regiment RA 4 REGT (Field) 155mm AS 90
5 Regiment RA 5 REGT STA & Special Ops (1)
7 Parachute Regiment RHA 7 RHA (Parachute & Air Assault) 105mm Light Gun
12 Regiment RA 12 REGT (Air Defence) HVM & UAV
14 Regiment RA 14 REGT (Training) All School Equipments
16 Regiment RA 16 REGT (Air Defence) Rapier
19 Regiment RA 19 REGT (Field) 155mm AS 90
26 Regiment RA 26 REGT (Field) 155mm AS 90
29 Commando Regiment RA  29 REGT (Field) 105mm Light Gun (2)
32 Regiment RA 32 REGT UAVs
39 Regiment RA 39 REGT GMLRS
40 Regiment RA 40 REGT (Field) 105mm Light Gun
47 Regiment RA 47 REGT UAV
The King's Troop RHA (Ceremonial) 13-Pounders

(1) STA - Surveillance and Target Acquisition
(2) The Regimental Headquarters of 29 Commando Regiment, with one battery, is at Plymouth. The other two batteries are at Arbroath and Poole. Those at Poole provide the amphibious warfare Naval Gunfire Support Officers (NGFSO)

All Regiments equipped mainly with 155 mm AS 90 now have the ability to deploy on operations using the 105 mm Light Gun.

Following the 2010 SDSR there will be considerable changes to the operational roles of many of the above Regiments. Details are awaited.

Royal Artillery Locations (early 2011)





1 Regiment Royal Horse Artillery

Assaye Barracks, Hampshire

3 Regiment Royal Horse Artillery

Caen Barracks, Hohne

4 Regiment Royal Horse Artillery

Alanbrooke Barracks. Topcliffe

5 Regiment Royal Artillery

Marne Barracks, Catterick

7 (Parachute) Regiment Royal Horse Artillery

Merville Barracks, Colchester

12 Regiment Royal Artillery

Baker Barracks, Hampshire

14 Regiment Royal Artillery

Royal Artillery Barracks, Larkhill

16 Regiment Royal Artillery

St Georges Barracks, North Luffenham

19 Regiment Royal Artillery

Bhurtpore Barracks, Tidworth

26 Regiment Royal Artillery

Mansergh Barracks, Gutersloh

29 (Commando) Regiment Royal Artillery

RHQ 8, 23,79 Batterys, Plymouth

32 Regiment Royal Artillery

Roberts Barracks, Larkhill

39 Regiment Royal Artillery

Albemarle Barracks, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne

40 Regiment Royal Artillery

Thiepval Barracks, Lisburn

47 Regiment Royal Artillery

Baker Barracks, Thorney Island

The King’s Troop Royal Horse Artillery

Ordnance Hill, St Johns Wood, London

Note: There are plans for the Kings Troop to re-locate at the Artillery Barracks in Woolwich.


TA Artillery Regiments

Under the TA Restructuring plans announced in March 2006 the 7x Royal Artillery TA Regiments were restructured as follows:

1 x Observation Post Regiment
1 x STA/GMLRS Regiment
1 x Unmanned Air Vehicle/General Support Regiment
1 x Ground Based Air Defence Regiment (HVM)
3 x Close Support Regiments (105 mm Light Gun)

This grouping will evolve from the TA Artillery grouping prior to restructuring which was:
The Honourable Artillery Company STA and Special Ops
100 Regt RA (V) Light Gun
101 Regt RA (V) STA/GMLRS
103 Regt RA (V) Light Gun
104 Regt RA (V) UAV
105 Regt RA (V) Light Gun
106 Regt RA (V) HVM
TA Artillery Regimental Locations  
Honourable Artillery Company Finsbury Barracks, London
100th (Yeomanry) Regiment Royal Artillery (Volunteers) RHQ/201 Bty RA(V), TA Centre, Luton
101st (Northumbrian) Regiment Royal Artillery (Volunteers) RHQ, Napier Armoury, Gateshead
103rd (Lancashire Artillery Volunteers) Regiment Royal Artillery (Volunteers) RHQ, Jubilee Barracks, St Helens
104th Regiment Royal Artillery (Volunteers) Raglan Barracks, South Wales
105th Regiment Royal Artillery (Volunteers) RHQ, Artillery House, Edinburgh
106th (Yeomanry) Regiment Royal Artillery (Volunteers) Napier House, Grove Park, London
Central Volunteers Headquarters Royal Artillery and Headquarters Woolwich Station Royal Artillery Barracks, Woolwich